search enfr
read, share ! Log out

profession

Sweeping change in the media ecosystem and the appropriation of new technologies from the latest revolutions compel us to rethink content in order to offer new experiences which take into account new audience habits and trends. Creating a transmedia experience therefore involves mobilising multiple skills as of project genesis, and all throughout its design.

New occupations are emerging:

 

  • Story Architect / Transmedia Producer:

This is the project maestro responsible for the overall consistency of the storyworld, who forms a central channel for discussions between the different project contributors. Jeff Gomez, attached to the notion of a transmedia franchise, introduced the notion of Transmedia Producer to the Producer’s guild of America in Hollywood, with Lance Weiler coining the term Story Architect, which he associates more with writing skills.

 

  • Lead Author:

The Lead Author’s role is to check consistency between the original storyworld narrative and its extensions. He or she works in close collaboration with the authors of the different extensible threads of the story (film, TV, video games etc.). Contrary to more traditional productions, the author of a transmedia project is involved from the writing phase until the experience is released and all throughout its different developments, which means he or she has to form an integral part of the operational team. His or her main tool is the story bible which is supposed to include all the themes which form part of the storyworld, and to set out its confines.

 

  • Experience designer:

This person is responsible for the experience continuum, i.e. the quality of the experience created for the public and its consistency with the storyworld as a whole, at different stages of production. He or she must plan and tie in potential interactions between the story and the audience in an aim to offer interactivity, optimise engagement and organise viewers’ exploration and journey between all the developments within the same transmedia storyworld: blogs, websites, social networks, emails / text messaging, competitions, web series, applications etc.

 

  • Transmedia planner:

Person in charge of developing the media architecture in time and space. Following the timeline devised for the storyworld and/or the story and taking inspiration from new applications observed, he or she plans activation of each of the media platforms used.

 

  • Transmedia Storyteller:

Interaction with fans and communities is a central element of transmedia experience. To enable this, the transmedia storyteller is in charge of bringing the storyworld to life on social networks, blogs etc., specifically through protagonists or narrative features following on from the storyworld bible, and orchestrating the conversation on canvass. He or she relies on community managers who are in charge of implementing the storyteller’s animation and moderation strategy. 

 

Depending on what developments have been sketched out for the transmedia experience, the dedicated team will have an aggregate combination of skill sets from very different backgrounds (video games, digital, technology, event planning, design etc.). The success of the project is particularly dependent on the different contributors’ ability to communicate and create in partnership with one another.

 

our tools for your transmedia projects

save the dates

No events.

recherche enfr
Lisez, partagez ! Se déconnecter

métiers

Le bouleversement de l’écosystème médiatique et l’appropiration de nouvelles technologies issues des dernières révolutions obligent  à repenser le contenu de manière à offrir de nouvelles expériences qui tiennent compte des nouveaux usages et pratiques du public. La création d’une expérience transmedia requiert donc la mobilisation de multiples compétences dès la genèse du projet et tout au long de sa conception. De nouveaux métiers émergent :

 

  • Story Architect / Transmedia Producer :

C’est le « chef d’orchestre » du projet, il s’assure de la cohérence globale de l’univers et centralise les échanges entre les différents acteurs du projet. Attaché à la notion de franchise transmedia, Jeff Gomez introduit la notion de Transmedia Producer à la Guilde des Producteurs Américains à Hollywood, de son côté Lance Weiler initie le terme de Story Architect qu’il associe plutôt à des compétences d’écriture.

 

  • Lead Author :

Il a pour mission de vérifier la cohérence entre l’univers narratif originel et son extension. Il travaille en étroite collaboration avec les auteurs des différentes parties extensibles de l’histoire (cinéma, TV, jeu vidéo etc.). À l’inverse de productions plus classiques, l’auteur d’un projet transmedia est présent de la phase d’écriture jusqu’à la diffusion de l’expérience et tout au long de ses différents développements, ce qui l’oblige à faire partie intégrante de l’équipe opérationnelle. Son outil principal réside dans la bible de l’univers sensé recenser l’ensemble des thématiques consituantes de cet univers et en décrire ses limites.

 

  • Experience designer :

Il est responsable du continuum d’expérience. C’est-à-dire de la qualité de l’expérience proposé au public et de sa cohérence avec l’univers global et ce, aux différentes étapes de la production. Il doit prévoir et ficeler les interactions potentielles entre l’histoire et les spectateurs avec pour objectifs de proposer de l’interactivité, d’optimiser l’engagement et d’organiser la navigation et la circulation du spectateur parmi l’ensemble des développements d’un même univers transmedia : les blogs, sites webs, réseaux sociaux, e-mails /sms, jeux, webseries, applications, etc.

 

  • Transmedia planner :

Il est en charge de développer l’architecture des médias dans le temps et dans l’espace. En respect de la timeline imaginée pour l’univers et/ou l’histoire, et inspiré pas les nouveaux usages constatés, il planifie l’activation de chacun des supports exploités.

 

  • Storyteller Transmedia :

L’interaction avec les fans et les communautés constitue un élément central des expériences transmedia. Pour ce faire, le storyteller transmedia est en charge de donner vie à l’univers sur les réseaux sociaux, les blogs, etc… notamment au travers de protagonistes ou de ressorts narratifs en respectant la bible de l’univers et d’orchestrer la conversation sur la toile. Il s’appuie sur des community managers qui sont en charge d’appliquer sa stratégie d’animation et de modération. 

 

En fonction des développements imaginés pour l’expérience transmedia, l’équipe dédiée agrégera des compétences issues d’horizons très différents (jeu vidéo, digital, technologie, événementiel, déssin,…). Le succès du projet repose notamment sur la capacité des différents intervenants à communiquer et créer main dans la main.

nos outils pour vos projets transmedia

save the dates

Il n'y a pas d'événement à afficher.